Success For Teens

Crews Book Study:  Success for Teens
This book will dramatically improve the level of success of any teenager on their road to adulthood.
 
A sample of what’s covered in the book:
 
Success for Teens will show Teenagers that success is not about smarts, looks, or luck. It’s about becoming the best possible person they can be and making the most of their talents and opportunities. By understanding and applying the slight edge philosophy, they’ll learn the time-tested principles for excelling in all areas of their life: Time Management, Goal-Setting, Self-esteem, dream-building, self-motivation, habits and purpose.
 
In this book study we will take one chapter a week and discuss the contents of the book as well as blog about what you are learning.  I hope you can really learn from some of the truths that it has to offer.  Tell me what your first impression are about reading this book?  Have you ever read a book like it before?
KEY QUESTION:  CHAPTER 1 (Use the Leave a Comment Link at the top of this post to answer the following 2 questions)
  1. Jesselin Rodriguez is not unlike many students.  How would you have handled the problems she faced?
  2. Write one question that you would like the author to answer about Chapter 1.
Finally, be sure to answer all question on pages 16, 17 and 18 using the space provided in your book.  This will not be taken up each week but will be periodically checked to see that you are journaling your thoughts and answers to the questions.
NOTE:  All questions must be answered by 12 midnight on Sunday night.  No exceptions.  Also feel free to make comments on what others have written.  Remember, if you do not have the Internet at home, you must answer this question on a sheet of paper and turn in first thing Monday morning or earlier.
Thanks,

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mikaela on October 17, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I would’ve walked away from the fights.

  2. Posted by Anonymous on October 17, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    In Jesselin’s situation Would have kept doing my work and not care what people think of me.

  3. Posted by Ebonee Ward on October 18, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    If I were in Jesselin’s shoes, I would have really worked hard and have done my work. Even if my friends didn’t do their work I would have encouraged them to do their work with me.

    What inspired the author to write this book?

  4. Posted by Ariana on October 18, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I would have handled Jesslin’s problems way differently. If everyone else wanted to fail, they could. I wouldn’t want to though, even if fitting in means failing. I’d still try my hardest and do my work. School and how you do in it pretty much leads to where you end up in life, and I want that to be someplace good. I would have liked the authors to answer the question were they successful when they were teens?

  5. Posted by Karen Lam on October 22, 2011 at 1:05 am

    1. I would have just done what I thought was best for me: to work to the best of my ability. I wouldn’t have cared what other classmates were doing with their school work if I wanted to succeed.
    2. How did the author obtain the information and stories?

  6. Posted by Anonymous on October 22, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    1. Instead of trying to act cool in front of my friends,as Jesselin Rodriguez’s first choice was, i would have focused on my school work so that i could get into college and have a successful career.

    2. One question i would like to ask the author about chapter one is: After taking a series of small tests in order to get a positive outcome, what is there to do after trying many times and receiving a negative result?

  7. Posted by Katy Wilbanks on October 23, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    1. Jesselin did had many hardships in school. She should have just been herself. Doing something right is very different from it being cool. Everything cool is not always a good thing.
    2. One question I would probably have to ask would be “If everyone in those sories (that i read) really did have dreams for the future, then how come they messed it up by trying to fit in?”

  8. Posted by Jhania Smith on October 24, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    1. Don’t let other people bring you down that easily. Just because someone doesn’t like what you’re doing doesn’t mean you shouldn’t do it. It’s all a matter of trying to fit in by following your peers… There goes that little saying again: “Don’t be a follower, be a leader.” Lead your life! Forget what people think! You never know when you’ll be looking down on them saying “That could’ve been me.” I know it’s hard not to follow up with your friends but sometimes you need to know what’s right and what’s wrong. It’s usually not that hard to tell.

    2. One question that I would ask the author is: Why is it that when people say they’re going to have a great job, a great life, etc. they almost always end up dropping out of high school, smoking drugs, and getting themselves in trouble with the law(and their parents have to bail them out)? It doesn’t make sense. They seem like “goody goodies” and then they always have to ruin their life forever. I just wish people wouldn’t act so stupid when they know it’s the wrong choice their making.

Leave a comment